God is real and I connected with him on LinkedIn

God is real and I connected with him on LinkedIn

ยท

2 min read

Some of us go for the four-year computer science degree at Big State University, pre-gaming for exclusive job fairs with adderall. Some of us like to eat paint and binge watch Top 10 Things You Need To Learn As A Minimalist Soydev videos all day until we hit 10,000 hours and reach Gladwell status. Personally, I went to Jared.

I obsessed over guitar for half my life, then I watched the masterpiece that is Mr. Robot, so now I'm also obsessing over code (and how close we are to a tech dystopia like the one the show depicts, if we aren't already there). I'm in the process of navigating how to balance both of those things. Life has made it clear to me that obsession is a bad strategy in general, but it's been a productive first three months learning web development, so I'll allow it until it starts to take the spotlight away from other priorities, like making my LinkedIn look dope as fuck so employers think I'm a rockstar.

It seems like software engineers spend as much time on LinkedIn as they do at their job - I value work-life balance so this is a huge plus for me. 10 devs saw that we're mutual friends with 2 devs I've never met, then 10 more devs saw that we're mutual friends with 12. A couple of iterations of that and now I'm besties with John Google. Companies turn me down because I'm "so overqualified that their highest offer would still be insulting". Now I just need to read up on effective altruism and I should finally be ready to win friends and influence people. I think I broke capitalism and all I had to do was read the docs. Will report back. From the moon. With Fireship. ๐Ÿš€

/* My mom just texted me about buying beer later. As if it requires a conversation. Throw me in your car and take us to hell. We're running late! */

ย